I don’t appear to have updated since the summer, and now the leaves are falling and I have to wear a jacket when I leave the house. I still take it off when I enter that godforsaken circle of hell known as the London Underground, but it’s the principle of the thing.

Anyway. The reason I haven’t ben updating is that I’ve been reading a lot. And I mean, a lot. The past few months have ben a serious book-binge on my part, and taking time to blog about one book would mean having to wait before starting the next. Ain’t gonna happen.

A sample* of the delights I have been…well, sampling: (links go to the reviews and will be updated as and when I write them)

There was also some random self-help books that I found in the library, but this blog is dull enough without my wittering about my issues, don’t you think? I’m currently reading The Elusive Pimpernel, and I’m about two thirds of the way through. For the record, Orczy’s Marguerite is an IDIOT. A principled, passionate idiot, but still an idiot. We’re expected to believe that this is “the cleverest woman in Europe”? SERIOUSLY? Anyway, Marguerite Blakeney gets several posts to herself when I get round to doing a proper update.

Books on my TBR pile include more historical fiction, some historical non-fiction and a couple of classics that I keep picking up and discarding – Eliot’s Felix Holt, the Radical being one. I’m also planning on getting stuck in to my annual re-read of The Woman in White - September is usually my preferred month, for some reason – and I’m hoping this will tide me over until next payday.

That said, I’m off to Berlin with my inamorata in a few weeks, and although I’ve been to Germany before I know next to nothing about the city itself. Can anyone recommend me anything – fiction, non-fiction, travel guides?

 

*AKA, ‘what I can remember of a really large pile of books’

